NEGOTIATION, NOT RETRIBUTION

NEGOTIATION, NOT RETRIBUTION

Charles Quist-Adade

Affective Reading

  •  What is the reading about?

 The reading is essentially about how events like the September 11 attacks affect us the industrialized countries so immensely. Whereas, we are numb to the fact that “thousands of innocent children, women, and peasants in the developing world” (p2) being killed by the US-led West. It indicates that history has continued to show that retaliation and retribution are not effective ways of dealing with terrorism, but negotiation is.This article depicts how developed countries shed “inordinate” (p1) tears when such attacks take place in their countries; however, we overlook the attacks that are constantly taking place in developing countries. We humans are strange people with “short memories” and “fickle perceptions” (p4) who “do not learn from history” (p5) as Georg Hegel said. For example, Osama bin Laden was trained by theUSto kill Russian soldiers and Afghans, and later was known as a terrorist. Another example, Nelson Mandela was labeled a terrorist, and now he’s seen as an “international icon” (p5).

  • How do I FEEL about the reading I just finished?

I feel negotiations are better when it comes to solving problems. It makes it possible to compromise even when people don’t completely get their way.

  • What do I THINK about the reading I just finished?

I think the world needs to fix their way of thinking. Its very strange how they can change their mind from one way to another, for example labeling Nelson Mandela as a terrorist, and now he’s seen as a international icon.

  • What I BELIEVE about the reading I just finished?

I believe if the world just takes on things by negotiating instead of retribution the world would be a better and peaceful place.

  • What I KNOW about the reading I just finished?

I know us people tend to be very strange when it comes to changing our perspectives on things. The reason might be due to media, since media has the power to change people’s identity, as it did Nelson Mandela’s.

Leave a comment