SEPTEMBER 11: FORGIVINESS IS NOT PART OF THE LESSONS LEARNED

SEPTEMBER 11: FORGIVINESS

IS NOT PART OF THE LESSONS LEARNED

Charles Quist-Adade

Affective Reading

  • What is the reading about?

This reading discusses the anniversary of the 9/11 attacks and how forgiveness was not one of the lessons learned in the “Bush country.” Rather, they approached this situation with intentions of retaliation. For a country that is said to be a “God’s own country,” it sure has not taken up the beliefs of Christianity; which is forgiveness. If Bush had learned the lesson of forgiveness, he would have not taken his soldiers to Iraq to seek revenge for the Septemeber 11th attack. Furthermore, the reading indicates how Americans are rather deceiting, as they preach to non-Westerners to forgive and forget, but mostly forget. They expect “Africans to forget the African holocaust, the European slave trade, the colonization, the balkanization, and the pillage of the continents human and natural resources.” They expect others to forget the past and move on with their lives, however they don’t practice their own beliefs. They seem to think their lives are more precious than those of non-Westners. They build memorials for their people, but banter a slavery memorial. Bush claims that he is seeking justice, but in reality it is revenge he wants- not justice. He is only finishing off the task his father left uncompleted.

  • How do I FEEL about the reading I just finished?

I feel shocked after reading this article. It addresses some thought-provoking remarks about Americans.

  • What do I THINK about the reading I just finished?

I think what the americans are doing is extremely wrong. Rather then just preaching: forgive and forget, they too should practice this belief.

  • What do I BELIEVE about the reading I just finished?

I believe the Americans should find a middle ground with the coutnries they have issues with, instead of seeking revenge. This we decrease the death rate of the mant innocents.

  • What do I KNOW about the reading I just finished?

I know what happened on September 11 was an utterly tragic event. It must have caused Americans emotionally and physically. However, the way the Americans are reacting to it is not right. It is not making things better, rather just causing more heartache in the world.

Leave a comment