THE PHANTOM OF THE RACE: THE MYTH OF RACE AND THE REALITY OF RACISM

THE PHANTOM OF THE RACE:

THE MYTH OF RACE AND THE REALITY OF RACISM

Charles Quist-Adade

 Affective Reading

 

  • What is the reading about?

 This reading is about race and racism and how they are completely different things. It addresses that race does not exist; it is a “phantom,” but racism on the other hand is the truth of all societies. However, these two are connected, and they depend on each other. Both combined destroy people’s lives everywhere around the world, both in direct and indirect ways. Social scientists have stated that “race is a human invented concept” (p4). This basically means that it’s a social construct, and it is not based on genetics. There are only physical differences due to geographic and climate conditions. These geographic and climate conditions for example can make an Ibo man darker than an English man, just  because he is closer to the equator. The only reason these two people become part of either the “Black” or “White” race is due to somebody defining them as that (this is how racism came about).

  •  How do I FEEL about the reading I just finished?

 I feel the reading was very intriguing, and I completely agree that race does not actually exist; it is a human invention.

  •  What do I THINK about the reading I just finished?

I think people should actually live by the quotes “our differences are only skin deep” and “we all belong to the human race” because as the article has unfolded it is very true.

  •  What do I BELIEVE about the reading I just finished?

I believe if people would actually consider the quotes above, the world would be a better place, however, as we know people seem to ignore these phrases and continue to be racist.

  •  What do I KNOW about the reading I just finished?

I know what the article discusses is utterly right, and people who have a racist view on things should consider anti-racist education

Leave a comment